• History
  • VIII IFF «Eurasia»
  • V IFF «Eurasia»
  • IV IFF «Eurasia»
  • III IFF «Eurasia»
  • II IFF «Eurasia»
  • I IFF «Eurasia»
  • All Pages

VIII IFF «Eurasia», Almaty, 2021

The eighth international film festival «Eurasia» took place in Almaty from 17 to 22 September, 2021. This year the festival will continue to work in a format of the international competition, presenting the movies CIS, European and Asian countries. It is remarkable that in the competition program was presented the South Korean film «POONG-SAN-GAE», the scenario was written by the jury chairman of the seventh film festival «Eurasia» Kim Ki Duk.

The festival jury this year were headed by the veteran of the European and Hollywood cinema Wolfgang Petersen, the author of such pictures, as «Troy», «Das Boot», «Poseidon». Also the the members of the jury were the winner of the «Oscar» award director Danis Tanovich, the Philippine director Loy Arkenas, the Georgian cinematographer George Ovashvili and Kazakh Amir Karakulov, his film «Virtual Love» was shown at the opening ceremony of the festival.
Apart of the competition program has took place eight out-of-competition programs. Also during the festival the presentation of one of the most prestigious film awards of the world «Golden Globe» was made.

For the first time in the history of a film festival «Eurasia» the jury didn’t settle mind, and the Grand Prix wasn’t awarded to any of the competition pictures.

Prize-winners of the VIII IFF «Eurasia

  • The Eurasia festival Grand Prix — wasn’t awarded
  • The prize for the best director — «The future lasts forever» Uchkun Alper (Turkey)and the director of the movie «Elles» Malgorzata Szumovska (France — Poland).
  • Prize for Best Actor — Azamat Nigmanov, «Convoy» (Russia), director Alexey Mizgirev.
  • Prize for Best Actress — Anais Demoustier, «Elles», director Malgorzhata Szumovska.
  • Prize of FIPRESCI jury — «Convoy» (Russia), director Alexey Mizgirev.
  • Prize of NETPAC jury — «Student» (Kazakhstan), director Darezhan Omirbayev.


  • Dennis Haysbert, USA
  • Vincent P?rez, France
  • Li Yung Kwan, South Korea
  • Nonna Grishayeva, Russia
  • Denis Nikiforov, Russia
  • Andrey Rudensky, Russia
  • Darya Poverennova, Russia
  • Daniil Belykh, Russia
  • Alisa Grebenshikova, Russia